4 May 2011

Lorenzo Natali Journalism Prize launched on World Press Freedom Day

On 3 May, the 2011 edition of the Lorenzo Natali Journalism Prize opened for entries. Organised by the European Commission in partnership with Reporters Without Borders (RSF), the prize recognises the outstanding contribution of journalists reporting on development, human rights and democracy. The deadline for applications is 31 August 2011.

The prize, named after a former European Commission official in charge of cooperation and development, is awarded to journalists working in one of the five following regions: Africa, Asia and Pacific, Latin America and the Caribbean, Europe, and the Arab World and the Middle East.

For each region, prizes of up to 5,000 Euros (US$7,500) will be awarded to the three best print and online entries. The winners of a special television prize, a special radio prize and the best entry overall will also be awarded 5,000 Euros each.

Click here for more information or to apply.

Putting free expression issues in perspective.

Sign up to receive IFEX In Context.

At this point, would publish cover: "Home page"
IFEX is a global network of committed organisations working to defend and promote free expression.
Permission is granted for material on this website to be reproduced or republished in whole or in part provided the source member and/or IFEX is cited with a link to the original item.