Commission africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples (ACHPR)

Guide de la Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples


Disponible en :

English Français Español


Informations de base sur l’actuelle cour des droits de l’homme de l’Afrique : La Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples

Il aura fallu attendre longtemps l’arrivée de la Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples. En 1961, la Commission internationale de juristes fut la première à proposer la création d'une cour africaine des droits de l'homme lors d'une conférence au Nigéria. L’idée d’intervenir dans les affaires d'un État pour des motifs liés aux droits de la personne déplaisait à plusieurs des États de l'Organisation de l'union africaine (aujourd'hui l’UA) ; or, au cours de la période immédiate qui a suivi le colonialisme, les questions de construction de nation et de souveraineté ont supplanté dans les esprits celles relatives aux droits de la personne. Ce n'est qu'en janvier 2004 que la Cour a finalement été établie en vertu du Protocole relatif à la Charte africaine des droits de l'homme et des peuples portant création d'une Cour africaine des droits de l'homme et des peuples, ci-après désigné « le protocole d’établissement ». Les 11 juges de la Cour ont été nommés en 2006 pour un mandat de six ans. (Pendant les six premières années de la Cour, la durée des fonctions était plus courte : deux années pour les quatre premiers juges élus et quatre années pour les deuxièmes juges élus). Chaque État de l’UA a le droit de nommer jusqu'à trois candidats, dont au moins deux doivent être citoyens du pays ; puis, à partir de ce bassin, les membres du Conseil exécutif de l'Union africaine élisent les juges de la Cour.

La Cour a été créée en réaction aux limitations auxquelles se butait la Commission africaine des droits de l'homme et des peuples dans le cadre de son mandat de défense des droits de la personne, lesquelles avaient pour cause plus spécifiquement l’incapacité de la Commission à faire exécuter ses décisions. Or la Cour vise à complémenter et à renforcer le travail de la Commission et non à la remplacer. Cependant, contrairement à la Commission, qui s'applique aux pays de l'UA qui ont ratifié la Charte, la Cour peut superviser les seuls cas visant des États ayant ratifié le protocole d'établissement. Bien que la Charte compte 53 États de l'UA adhérents, à peine 25 d'entre eux avaient, au 1er mai 2010, ratifié le protocole d'établissement.


Informations de base sur la nouvelle cour des droits de l’homme proposée : La Cour africaine de justice et des droits de l’homme

En juillet 2004, à peine six mois après son établissement, l’UA a décidé de fusionner la Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples et la Cour africaine de justice pour former la Cour africaine de justice et des droits de l’homme. La Cour de justice, adoptée en vertu d’un protocole en 2003, se voulait le principal mécanisme judiciaire de l’UA. Entre autres fonctions, elle devait superviser les décisions rendues par les organisations économiques intergouvernementales régionales et interpréter le droit international ainsi que les lois adoptées par l'Union. La Cour de justice, compte tenu de l'arrivée de la Cour unique, n'a toujours pas amorcé ses activités.

Cette fusion potentielle constitue le point de départ déroutant de l'établissement d'un organe capable de faire respecter ses recommandations en matière de droits de la personne, et d’aucuns craignent que le volet des droits de la personne soit perçu comme « secondaire » par rapport aux questions de souveraineté et aux autres litiges présentés devant la Cour. Cependant, la fusion est favorable en ce que les économies réalisées signifient que davantage de fonds peuvent servir à établir les responsabilités dans les cas de violations des droits de la personne, et en ce que les chevauchements problématiques entre la Cour de justice et la Cour africaine des droits de l'homme et des peuples disparaîtront.

La Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples poursuivra ses activités jusqu'à son remplacement par la Cour unique, qui n’est pas prévu avant 2013 au plus tôt. La fusion a été décidée dans le but de limiter les dépenses, d'améliorer l'efficience et de réduire le nombre de mécanismes législatifs que l’UA, déjà débordée, a le devoir de superviser. La cour des droits de l'homme actuelle est située à Arusha en Tanzanie, où sera également établie la nouvelle instance fusionnée.

La Cour africaine de justice et des droits de l’homme sera composée de 16 juges, dont huit doivent être des experts en droit des droits de la personne. La Cour africaine de justice et des droits de l’homme a été instituée par le Protocole portant statut de la Cour africaine de justice et des droits de l’homme, également connu sous le nom de « protocole de fusion ». Au moins 15 États de l’UA doivent ratifier ce protocole avant que la nouvelle cour puisse démarrer ses travaux. En date du 1er mai 2010, 21 pays avaient signé le protocole de fusion, mais seulement deux d'entre eux l'avaient ratifié. En ce qui a trait à ses applications dans le champ des droits de la personne, on s'attend à ce que la Cour africaine de justice et des droits de l’homme applique la loi et adopte un comportement, sur le plan de la procédure, comparable à celui de la Cour africaine des droits de l'homme et des peuples. À moins d'un avis contraire, ce guide fait référence à la Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples, actuellement en service.


Comment la Cour intervient-elle dans les cas de violation des droits de la personne ?

Tout comme la Commission, la Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples doit évaluer chaque plainte déposée afin de s'assurer que celle-ci répond à certaines conditions avant de décider si elle peut instruire l'affaire. Autre similitude avec son prédécesseur, la Cour peut résoudre les différends à l'amiable dans la mesure où les deux parties souhaitent tenter d'en arriver à une telle forme de résolution. Si la tentative de résolution à l'amiable échoue, alors une poursuite pourrait être lancée. La Cour peut, dans l'intérêt de la justice, fournir gratuitement les services d'un avocat. Au cours de la période précédant le prononcé du jugement, la Cour peut décider de demander à l'État d'adopter des mesures provisoires afin d'éviter que les victimes subissent un tort irréparable. Par exemple, la Cour pourrait ordonner à un État de ne pas exécuter une victime présumée de violations des droits de la personne.

La Cour peut recueillir ses propres preuves dans le cadre d'une affaire en dépêchant une mission là où les violations se sont produites. En outre, le protocole de la Cour permet à des « experts » de témoigner dans des causes, ce qui, en principe, pourrait s’appliquer aux représentants d'une organisation. Dans son interprétation du droit, la Cour se réfère à la Charte africaine des droits de l'homme et des peuples ainsi qu'à tout autre instrument juridique des droits de la personne, y compris les instruments de l'ONU ayant été ratifiés par l’État concerné. Les documents de la Cour seront disponibles dans les quatre langues officielles de l’UA (soit l'arabe, l'anglais, le français et le portugais) et l’instruction du procès peut se faire dans l'une ou l'autre de ces langues. Les audiences de la Cour sont publiques, sauf en présence de « circonstances exceptionnelles », comme par exemple si des témoins sont menacés de mort ou si la cause met en péril la sécurité nationale.

En statuant sur une affaire, la Cour ordonnera que des mesures de réparation appropriées soient appliquées, au regard de la gravité de la ou des violations. Ces réparations pourraient comprendre, par exemple, un ordre d'abroger ou de modifier un règlement ou d'offrir une compensation financière aux victimes. Contrairement à la Commission, qui n'est pas tenue de rendre ses décisions dans un délai donné, la Cour dispose pour rendre son jugement d'une période de 90 jours à partir de la fin des délibérations. De surcroît, le jugement devra stipuler qu'un État doit appliquer les mesures ordonnées par la Cour à l'intérieur d'une période donnée. Les jugements de la Cour africaine sont sans appel ; mais les cas pourront être révisés en présence de nouvelles preuves.

Bien que la Commission ne dispose d'aucun mécanisme de suivi permettant de mesurer le respect des décisions, le Conseil exécutif de l'Union africaine a pour mandat de surveiller l'application des décisions de la Cour. Le Conseil exécutif pourra recommander l'application contre les États délinquants de sanctions pouvant, par exemple, nuire aux échanges commerciaux ou les services de transport.


Comment la Cour protège-t-elle la liberté d'expression ?

Le travail de la Cour consiste à faire respecter la Charte africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples. L'article 9 de cette Charte stipule que :

1. Toute personne a droit à l'information.
2. Toute personne a le droit d'exprimer et de diffuser ses opinions dans le cadre des lois et règlements.

De plus, la Cour appliquera tout autre déclaration ou mécanisme entériné par l'État poursuivi, notamment la Déclaration universelle des droits de l'homme et le Pacte international relatif aux droits civils et politiques, qui tous deux garantissent le droit à la liberté d'expression et à la liberté de la presse. Les conventions ou les traités signés par l’État impliqué et qui concernent certains enjeux particuliers des droits de la personne peuvent également s'avérer utiles dans le cadre d'un tel processus. Par exemple, la Convention sur l’élimination de toutes les formes de discrimination à l’égard des femmes protège le droit des femmes d'avoir accès aux médias.


Qui peut être traduit devant la Cour ?

À l'instar de la Commission, ce sont les États et non les individus ou les dirigeants qui peuvent être poursuivis pour des violations des droits de la personne. Les noms de représentants du gouvernement qui sont coupables de violations peuvent être cités, mais il revient à l'État d'appliquer les réparations ordonnées par la Cour. Lorsqu'un gouvernement a été remplacé, c’est au gouvernement en place d’assumer la responsabilité des violations commises par un régime précédent.

Seuls les États qui ont ratifié le protocole d’établissement peuvent être traduits devant la Cour. Cliquez ici pour consulter la liste des États qui ont ratifié ce protocole. Lorsque la nouvelle Cour africaine de justice et des droits de l’homme remplacera la cour actuelle, seules les parties ayant ratifié le protocole de fusion tomberont sous sa juridiction. Cliquez ici pour consulter la liste des États qui ont ratifié le protocole de fusion.


Qui peut saisir la Cour d'une affaire ?


Quels sont les liens entre la Commission africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples et la Cour africaine ?

La Commission africaine a établi un ensemble de règlements intérimaires servant à orienter sa relation avec la Cour africaine. Les règlements intérimaires de la Commission stipulent que cette dernière pourra déférer des cas à la Cour si un État échoue à se conformer à ses recommandations. Celle-ci pourra également saisir la Cour si un État refuse de se plier à ses mesures provisoires. (Si l'une ou l'autre des situations décrites plus haut concerne une affaire déposée par un plaignant, la Commission tentera d'obtenir la permission de ce dernier avant de déférer l'affaire devant la Cour.) Par ailleurs, la Commission déférera tout cas impliquant, au sens des règlements intérimaires, des violations graves et massives des droits de l’homme. La Commission entreprendra des missions d'enquête afin de déterminer si des violations graves justifient l'intervention de la Cour. Pour chacune des affaires déférées, l'État visé doit avoir ratifié le protocole établissant la Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples.


Comment les organisations peuvent-elles utiliser la Cour ?

Intenter des poursuites devant la Cour
Les organisations doivent en premier lieu s’assurer que l'État visé permet aux ONG et aux individus de saisir la Cour (voir « Qui peut saisir la Cour d'une affaire ? »). De surcroît, le cas doit répondre aux sept conditions de l'article 56 de la Charte africaine, qui stipule que les recours internes ont été épuisés et qu'aucune autre cour régionale ou internationale n'a été saisie de l'affaire, entre autres conditions. (Pour en savoir plus, voir l'élaboration de ces sept conditions réalisée par l’IFEX dans son Guide de Déposer une plainte devant la Commission.)

En plus des sept conditions, les plaignants doivent également s'assurer :

Demander aux parties autorisées de présenter leurs actions devant la Cou

Les organisations qui ne profitent pas d'un accès direct garanti en vertu de l'article 34(6) du protocole d’établissement peuvent demander de faire entendre leurs causes comme suit :


La Cour a-t-elle statué sur un cas ?

La Cour a émis un seul jugement à ce jour, en décembre 2009. Un individu nommé Michelot Yogogombaye a introduit une instance en vue de faire annuler une autre procédure intentée devant la Cour, dans laquelle le gouvernement du Sénégal a déposé des accusations contre l'ancien président tchadien Hissène Habré. L'ex-chef de l'État est soupçonné d'être responsable d'un nombre estimé de 200 000 cas de torture et 40 000 assassinats politiques au cours de son règne de huit ans. Michelot Yogogombaye serait un ancien ministre du gouvernement Habré. La Cour a rejeté la demande de M. Yogogombaye en expliquant que le Sénégal, en vertu de l'article 34(6) du protocole d’établissement, n'avait pas reconnu la compétence de la Cour pour instruire les causes présentées par des individus et des organisations.


Quelles sont les principales faiblesses de la Cour africaine ?

1. Les questions fusent quant à savoir si l'UA, à l'occasion de son Sommet, imposera par le biais de sanctions l’application des recommandations de la Cour. L’UA a prouvé par le passé qu'elle est prête à sanctionner des États faibles comme le Togo, mais qu'elle est peu encline à sévir contre des États influents ou qui possèdent de « puissants amis », d'après l'analyste George Mukundi Wachira. Par exemple, l’UA n'a imposé aucune sanction au Soudan malgré les violations atroces des droits de la personne commises dans ce pays pendant de nombreuses années.

2. Contrairement à d’autres cours des droits de l’homme, telles que la Cour européenne des droits de l'homme et la Cour interaméricaine des droits de l'homme, le protocole de la Cour stipule qu'il revient à l'État de décider si des individus ou des organisations peuvent lancer des poursuites contre lui. Seulement deux États ont produit des déclarations autorisant les individus et les organisations à saisir la Cour, ce qui signifie que pour tous les autres États, seuls les autres États membres, les organisations intergouvernementales, la Commission et les institutions nationales des droits de l’homme sont habilités à entreprendre des poursuites. Pour que la Cour devienne un véritable arbitre des droits de la personne, les victimes individuelles de violations doivent obtenir le droit d'avoir accès à la Cour.


Que peuvent faire les organisations pour renforcer la Cour africaine ?


Sources et liens utiles

La Charte africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples :
http://www.achpr.org/francais/_info/charter_fr.html

Le Protocole relatif à la Charte africaine des droits de l'homme et des peuples portant création d'une Cour africaine des droits de l'homme et des peuples (le protocole d’établissement) :
http://www.achpr.org/francais/_info/court_fr.html

Le Protocole portant statut de la Cour africaine de justice et des droits de l’homme (le protocole de fusion) :
http://www.africa-union.org/root/au/Documents/Treaties/list/Protocol%20on%20Statute%20of%20the%20African%20Court%20of%20Justice%20and%20HR.pdf

Le site Web officiel de la Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples :
www.african-court.org

La Coalition pour une Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples : http://www.africancourtcoalition.org/

Le guide de la Cour africaine (Coalition pour une Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples) :
http://www.africancourtcoalition.org/content_files/files/Publication4.pdf

Wachira, George Mukundi. « African Court on Human and Peoples’
Rights: Ten years on and still no justice » Minority Rights Group International :
http://www.unhcr.org/refworld/pdfid/48e4763c2.pdf

10 clés pour comprendre et utiliser la Cour africaine des droits de l’homme et des peuples (FIDH):
http://www.fidh.org/IMG/pdf/COUR_AF_ANGLcadre.pdf


Révision :

Fatou Jagne-Senghore, Africa Programme Officer Senegal, ARTICLE 19

For a secure connection, click here. If you’re wondering why this is important, click here.
Use a secure connection    Why this is important

REGIONS:

SUBSCRIBE:

Sign up for weekly updates

Guide to the African Court of Human and Peoples' Rights


The African Court of Human and Peoples' Rights has been a long time coming. In 1961, the International Commission of Jurists first proposed an African human rights court at a conference in Nigeria. Intervention into states on human rights grounds was unappealing to many states of the Organisation of the African Union (now the AU), however, as nation-building and sovereignty superseded human rights concerns in the immediate post-colonial period. It wasn't until January 2004 that the Court was finally established via the Protocol to the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights on the Establishment of an African Court on Human Rights, herein called “the establishment protocol”. The Court's 11 judges were appointed in 2006 for a six-year period. (In the first six years of the Court, the terms are shorter: two years for the first four judges elected and four years for the second judges elected). Each AU state may nominate up to three candidates, at least two of who must be nationals, and from this pool, the members of the Executive Council of the African Union elect the judges of the court.

The Court was created in response to the limitations faced by the African Commission of Human and Peoples' Rights in its mandate to protect and defend human rights, namely stemming from its lack of enforcement capability. Rather than replacing the Commission, however, the Court is to complement and strengthen the work of the Commission. Unlike the Commission, however, which applies to any AU country that has ratified the Charter, the Court can only oversee cases involving states that have ratified the establishment protocol. While all 53 states of the AU have ratified the Charter, only 25 have ratified the establishment protocol as of May 1, 2010.


In July of 2004, just six months after the Court was established, the AU decided the Court should be merged with the African Court of Justice to become the African Court of Justice and Human Rights. The Court of Justice, adopted in a 2003 protocol, was to be the AU's main judicial mechanism. Among other functions, it would oversee decisions made by regional economic intergovernmental organisations and interpret international law as well as laws adopted by the union. The Court of Justice has not yet become operational in anticipation of the merger court.

The potential merger is a confusing start to the establishment of a body capable of enforcing human rights recommendations, and there are fears the human rights aspect of the merged court will be perceived as “second class” to sovereignty and other disputes the court will oversee. However, the merger is positive in that the cost savings could mean more funds are available for the pursuit of accountability in human rights violations and the court will overcome duplication issues between the Court of Justice and the Court on Human and Peoples' Rights.

The African Court of Human and Peoples' Rights will remain operational until the merger Court replaces it, a development that is not expected to occur until at least 2013. The merger was decided in the interests of cost savings and efficiency, as well as cutting down on the number of legislative mechanisms the already overburdened AU is expected to oversee. The current human rights court is located in Arusha, Tanzania and the merged court will also be based here.

The Court of Justice and Human Rights will be comprised of 16 judges, eight of whom must be human rights law experts. The African Court of Justice and Human Rights was established by the Protocol on the Statue of the African Court of Justice and Human Rights aka “the merger protocol”. At least 15 AU states must ratify this protocol for the new court to come into effect. As of 1 May, 2010, 21 countries have signed the merger protocol, but only two have ratified it.

In terms of its human rights applications, the Court of Justice and Human Rights is expected to apply law and act procedurally in a manner quite similar to the Court of Human and Peoples' Rights. This guide refers to the currently operational Court of Human and Peoples' Rights unless otherwise noted.


As with the Commission, the Court on Human and Peoples' Rights decides whether a plaintiff's submission satisfies certain requirements before it rules on whether it will hear the case. Also similar to its predecessor, the Court is able to resolve disputes amicably provided both parties are willing to attempt such a resolution. If a friendly resolution fails, the case will proceed to litigation. The Court may provide free legal representation “where the interests of justice so require.” In the period before a decision is made, the Court may decide to demand the state adopt provisional measures to avoid irreparable harm to individuals. For example, as a provisional measure, the Court may order that a state not execute an alleged victim of a human rights violation.

The court can gather its own evidence in a case by sending a mission to the place where the violations occurred. In addition, the Court protocol allows for “experts” to testify in cases, which could conceivably include an organisation's representatives. In interpreting the law, the Court refers to the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights as well as any other legal human rights instrument, including UN instruments that have been ratified by the state concerned. Court documents will be available in the AU's four official languages (Arabic, English, French and Portuguese) and proceedings can be conducted in any of these languages. The hearings of the Court are public, barring “exceptional circumstances,” such as death threats against witnesses or matters that threaten national security.

When ruling on a case, the court will order remedies appropriate to the violation(s). Remedies could include, for example, an order to repeal or change a law or to provide victims with financial compensation. Unlike the Commission, in which there is no set limit in which decisions need be made, the Court has 90 days from the conclusion of deliberations to issue a judgement. In addition, the judgment will stipulate that a state must implement the Court's remedies within a given time frame. The judgement of the African Court is not subject to appeal; however cases can be reviewed in light of new evidence.

While the Commission has no follow-up mechanism to measure compliance, the Executive Council of the African Union has the mandate to monitor the implementation decisions of the court. When a state is found to be non-compliant, the Executive Council will recommend sanctions, which may, for example, affect trade or transport links.


The Court is tasked with enforcing the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights. Article 9 of this Charter states:

1. Every individual shall have the right to receive information.
2. Every individual shall have the right to express and disseminate his opinions within the law.

In addition, the Court will apply any other declaration or mechanism the state being brought before the Court is party to, or has signed, including the Universal Declaration of Human Rights and the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, which both enshrine the right to free expression and free press. Conventions or treaties signed by the state involved that concern specific human rights topics may also be useful to the process. For example, the Convention on the Elimination of Discrimination Against Women protects women's access to the media.


As with the Commission, states, rather than individuals and leaders, are held liable for human rights violations. While cases can name the government officials responsible for abuses, it is the state that is responsible for implementing the Court's remedies. When a government has been replaced, the acting government takes on the responsibility for violations committed by a previous regime.

Only states that have ratified the establishment protocol can be brought before the Court. Click here to see which states have ratified this protocol. When the new African Court of Justice and Human Rights replaces this court, only those that have ratified the merger protocol fall under the court's jurisdiction. Click here to see which states have ratified the merger protocol.


  • Member states of the AU who have ratified the establishment protocol
  • NGOs and individuals provided that the case concerns a state that has declared the competence of the court to hear cases brought by individuals and organisations under 34(6) of the establishment protocol. (Only Malawi and Burkina Faso have thus far approved organisations and individuals to access the court.)
  • African National Human Rights Institutions (NHRI)
  • African Intergovernmental Organisations accredited to the Union or its organs
  • The African Committee of Experts on the Rights and Welfare of the Child


The African Commission has established a set of interim rules to guide its relationship with the African Court. The Commission's interim rules state that it will refer cases to the Court when the state has failed to take action in compliance with its recommendations. When a state refuses to comply with the Commission's provisional measures, the Commission will likewise submit the case to the Court. (If either of the above situations involve a case submitted by a complainant, the Commission will seek the complainant's permission before sending the case to the Court.) The Commission will also refer any case that “constitutes one of serious and massive violations of human rights” according to the interim rules. To determine if grave and serious violations constituting the Court's intervention are occurring, the Commission will conduct investigative missions. In all cases of referral, the state in question must have ratified the protocol establishing the African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights.


Launching cases in the Court
Organisations must first ensure that the state concerned has allowed NGOs and individuals to petition the court (see 'Who can bring a case to the Court?'). Furthermore, the case must comply with the seven requirements of Article 56 of the African Charter, which stipulate that domestic remedies have been exhausted and the case is not being pursued in other regional or international courts, among other requirements. (For more, see IFEX's elaboration of these seven requirements in the Guide to Submitting a Complaint to the Commission).

In addition to the seven requirements, plaintiffs must ensure the following:
  • the violation occurred after the ratification of the establishment protocol
  • the complaint concerns only one matter
  • the plaintiff's submission notes whether there is a level of urgency to the case requiring provisional measures
  • any evidence such as letters, legal documents, autopsies, etcetera are included in the submission, along with any information on potential witnesses
  • a summary of the facts of the case and the evidence that will be put forth are provided
  • if known, the right(s) violated is/are clearly stated, along with the orders or remedies sought
  • the names and addresses of the applicant's designated representative are included, as well as the identification information of the party or parties against whom the application is being brought.

Petitioning authorised parties to bring cases before the court
Even when organisations do not have direct access granted to them under 34(6) of the establishment protocol, groups can appeal to have cases heard in the following ways:
  • Organisations can appeal to National Human Rights Institutions (NHRI) and the African Committee on the Rights and Welfare of the Child to submit cases to the court. Organisations can provide evidence, reports and expert witnesses in such cases.
  • If such an approach is likely to be effective in the particular case, organisations may wish to appeal to other parties authorised to petition the court, including member states and intergovernmental organisations
  • NGOs can encourage the Commission to send missions to investigate reported mass violations of human rights. If serious and wide-scale abuses are occurring, the Commission will refer the case to the Court.
  • Organisations should monitor the implementation of the Commission's recommendations and provisional measures of states and report non-compliance to the Commission. If the Commission decides states are not complying to its recommendations, it will refer the case to the Court.
  • Organizations should lobby member states to include the declaration and continue to put pressure for more ratification.


The court has made only one judgement so far, in December of 2009. An individual named Michelot Yogogombaye filed a petition encouraging the dismissal of another case which has been brought before the court, whereby the government of Senegal has pressed charges against former Chadian president Hissein Habre. Habre is allegedly responsible for an estimated 200,000 torture cases and 40,000 politically motivated murders during his eight-year rule. Yogogombaye is believed to be a former minister under Habre's government. The Court dismissed Yogogombaye's case on the grounds that Senegal has not declared the competence of the Court to hear cases brought by individuals and organisations under 34(6) of the Charter.


1.Questions abound as to whether the General Assembly of the AU will actually enforce the Court's recommendations through sanctions. The AU's track record shows that while it is willing to impose sanctions on weak states such as Togo, it is unlikely to impose sanctions on states that are influential or have “powerful friends,” according to analyst George Mukundi Wachira. For example, the AU did not impose sanctions on Sudan despite the atrocious human rights violations committed there over a period of many years.

2.In contrast to similar human rights courts such as the European Court of Human Rights and the Inter-American Court of Human Rights, the protocol for the Court leaves it up to the state to decide whether individuals or organisations can launch cases against it. Only two states have made declarations allowing individuals and organisations to petition the court, therefore for all other states, suits can only be brought by other member states, intergovernmental organisations, the Commission and national human rights institutions. For the Court to truly become a significant arbiter in human rights, the individual victims of violations must be given the right to access the Court.


  • Join the Coalition for an Effective African on Human and Peoples' Rights or support their work in other ways. The Coalition is made up of more than 350 NGOs from all over Africa, including the Media Institute of Southern Africa (MISA), the Media Monitoring Project Zimbabwe (MMPZ) and the Nairobi-based African Journalist Commission on Human Rights (CHARJ). This coalition, which is supported by the Open Society Institute, continues to work to open up the court to individuals and organisations. Visit http://www.africancourtcoalition.org/
  • Lobby states to make a declaration allowing individuals and NGOs the right to submit to the court. (States should make this declaration under both Article 34(6) of the establishment protocol and Article 30(f) of the merger protocol.)
  • Call on member states to ratify the Protocol to the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights on the Establishment of an African Court on Human Rights and the Protocol on the Statute of the African Court of Justice and Human Rights. (See 'Who can be brought before the Court?')
  • NGOs can reinforce the mandate of the Court by and providing additional surveillance of states in regards to their implementation of provisional measures and judgements, once such decisions have been made.
  • Groups should lobby states to nominate judges who have extensive human rights experience. Organisations should publicise and call for the Court's intervention in cases where states attempt to exert influence on judges.
  • Organisations may wish to raise legal assistance funds in certain cases. (The Court may also be able to provide some legal assistance to victims.)
  • Organisations can aid in an investigative mission if the Court decides to conduct further research in this way.
  • Groups can raise awareness about the Court among partner organisations, the public and the media, especially in regard to the need for states to declare the court competent to rule on cases brought to it by organisations and individuals.


African Charter on Human and People's Rights:
http://www.achpr.org/english/_info/charter_en.html

Protocol to the African Charter on Human and Peoples' Rights on the Establishment of an African Court on Human Rights (the establishment protocol):
http://www.africa-union.org/root/au/Documents/Treaties/Text/africancourt-humanrights.pdf

Protocol on the Statue of the African Court of Justice and Human Rights (the merger protocol):
http://www.africa-union.org/root/au/Documents/Treaties/list/Protocol%20on%20Statute%20of%20the%20African%20Court%20of%20Justice%20and%20HR.pdf

Official Site of the African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights:
www.african-court.org

Coalition for an Effective African on Human and Peoples' Rights:
http://www.africancourtcoalition.org/

Guide to the African Court (Coalition for an Effective African on Human and Peoples' Rights):
http://www.africancourtcoalition.org/content_files/files/Publication4.pdf

Wachira, George Mukundi. “African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights: Ten years and still no justice” Minority Rights Group International:
http://www.unhcr.org/refworld/pdfid/48e4763c2.pdf

10 keys to understand and use the African Court on Human and Peoples' Rights (FIDH):
http://www.fidh.org/IMG/pdf/COUR_AF_ANGLcadre.pdf


Fatou Jagne-Senghore, Africa Programme Officer Senegal, ARTICLE 19

Latest Tweet:

🇰🇭 #Cambodia: IFEX joined other civil society groups in asking Cambodian authorities to revoke the Sub-Decree on th… https://t.co/EUGOvMcwma

Get more stories like this

Sign up for our newsletters and get the most important free expression news delivered to your inbox.

CLOSE