إعداد تنبيهات آيفكس

15 خطوة لتصميم تنبيهات عاجلة فعالة



1- رسَخوا المصداقية

ضمنّوا تنبيهاتكم معلومات واضحة عن المنظمة الراعية وزّودوا القارئ بعدة طرق للاتصال بكم ، مثل البريد الإليكتروني والعنوان البريدي وعنوان موقعكم على الإنترنت ورقم الهاتف ... الخ. إن توفير مثل هذه المعلومات أمر بديهي إن كنتم تريدون أن يتجاوب الناس مع تنبيهاتكم، فهم قد يرغبون في الاتصال بكم. إذاً لا بديل عن تعريفهم بأنفسكم بوضوح وإرشادهم إلى كيفية الوصول إليكم.

دائما ما تحدد تنبيهات آيفكس بوضوح هوية المنظمة العضو في الشبكة التي أرسلت التنبيه، وتتبع صيغة وبنية موحدة يستطيع المشتركون من خلالها التعرف عليها فوراً كـ"مُنتجٍ" صادر عن آيفكس .

2- وضحوا التاريخ

حتى لو انقضت فترة على وصول تنبيه عاجل وتراجعت أهميته، فيمكن أن يظل في صندوق البريد الإليكتروني الخاص بالمتلقي شهوراً أو ربما سنوات ثم فجأةً يعود إلى الحياة ، حيث يمرره المتلقي مجدداً إلى مجموعة جديدة من القوائم . لا تعتمدوا على ترويسة الرسالة وحدها لتحديد التاريخ (أو أي معلومات أخرى)، إذ أن من يمررون رسائل الإنترنت غالباً ما يحذفون الترويسة . بل وقد يكون من الأفضل أن تحددوا تاريخا واضحا لأقصى موعد للقيام بالتحرك المطلوب، مثلاً : " يمكنكم اتخاذ هذا التحرك حتى 17 / 2 / 1998 " . وإن كنتم تعتقدون بإمكانية القيام بتحركات متابعة، أو إن رغبتم في التنبيه إلى أن هذا الإجراء جزء من حملة متواصلة، أعلنوا عن ذلك بوضوح . وبهذه الطريقة، سيتصل بكم الناس أو ينتظروا تنبيهكم القادم .

واتباعا لنفس المبدأ، فإننا عندما نجمع تنبيهات شبكة آيفكس، نطلب أيضاً من المنظمات الأعضاء إضافة التواريخ ضمن نص تنبيهاتهم. وهذا يعني ذكر التاريخ المحدد الذي يشيرون إليه بدلا من تعبيرات مثل " اليوم" أو "الأمس" أو "الأسبوع الماضي". وحتى إن كنتم قد خصصتم سطرا في أول التنبيه لتاريخ الحدث، فبرجاء تضمين تواريخ الأحداث الرئيسية المذكورة في نص التنبيه. ونظرا للطابع الدولي لجمهور تنبيهات آيفكس، فإن تلك طريقة أخرى لتجنب الغموض أو الالتباس في إيصال الحقائق المتعلقة بالحالة. تذكروا أن تنبيهاتكم والنسخة النهائية منها التي نرسلها تعبر العديد من المناطق الزمنية، وبالتالي فمن الضروري تحديد تواريخ الأحداث بوضوح في نص التنبيه.

3- ضعوا علامات واضحة للبداية والنهاية

لا تستطيعون منع الناس من تعديل تنبيهاتكم حين يمررونها للآخرين. ولحسن الحظ ، فإن ذلك لا يحدث سوى بصورة عرضية، حيث تتجمع تعليقات إضافية في أعلى وأسفل الرسالة عند تمريرها. ضّعوا صفاً داكنا من الخطوط القصيرة أو ما يشبه ذلك في أعلى التنبيه وفي أسفله لكي تظهر أي تعديلات كإضافات منفصلة عن نص التنبيه. وبهذه الطريقة يتضح تماما المحتوى الذي تدعمونه والذي تدعمه مصداقيتكم.

4- اجعلوا من تنبيهكم كلاً مكتملا

لا تفترضوا أن جمهوركم يحصل على أية معلومات سوى ما يقدمه تنبيهكم . فعلى الأرجح أن من يقرأوه لم يسبق لهم أن سمعوا بكم أو بضحية الانتهاك المتعلق بحرية التعبير من قبل. لذا ، عليكم أن تعرّفوا مصطلحاتكم وتشرحوا خلفية الموضوع، أوعلى الأقل تقدموا بعض التعليمات البسيطة للحصول على مواد مفيدة عن خلفية القضية. وبإمكانكم أن تجعلوا تنبيهكم الإليكتروني قصيراً نسبياً، و وتركزوا بالأساس على المعلومات الجديدة التي ترغبون في توصيلها، لكن مع إدراج عنوان موقع إلكتروني يقدم التفاصيل الكاملة ضمن نص تنبيهكم.

وعندما تُعدون تنبيهاً للتوزيع على شبكة آيفكس، فيجب على المنظمة العضو دائما تقديم الأسماء الكاملة للمنظمات أو الحركات السياسية أو الهيئات الحكومية إلى جانب المختصرات . فحتى المختصرات المعروفة على نطاق واسع في في دولة بعينها قد تكون مجهولة تماما بالنسبة لأغلب القراء الدوليين. وفي حال غياب هذه المعلومات، يبذل منسقو التنبيهات في سكرتارية آيفكس كل جهد لإيجاد المعلومات الكاملة لإدراجها في التنبيه، لكن ذلك يعد خطوة إضافية في عملية تستغرق وقتاً طويلاً بالفعل، بل وقد ينتج عنه أخطاء محرجة للمنظمة العضو ولآيفكس على حد سواء. ولهذا السبب ، فإننا نطلب من أعضاء آيفكس مساعدتنا بتوفير أكبر قدر ممكن من المعلومات الكاملة.

وعلاوة على ذلك ، فمن المفيد عند إعداد تنبيه جديد حول قضية متواصلة تم توثيقها من قبل مراجعة التنبيهات السابقة الموزعة على شبكة آيفكس لمعرفة ما كُتب عن القضية في وقت سابق، وإدراج جزء خاص بـ " خلفية القضية" ضمن التنبيه يقدم ملخصاً للتسلسل الزمني للقضية حتى وقت كتابة التنبيه. لن يساعد ذلك على إعداد تنبيه متكامل فحسب، بل وسوف يضمن إطلاع جميع أعضاء آيفكس على أحدث حقائق الحالة، وهو إجراء من شأنه أن يساعد على تجنب التناقضات أو سوء الفهم.

5 – اجعلوا التنبيه سهل الفهم وسهل القراءة

من الأهمية بمكان أن تبدءوا تنبيهكم بعنوان جيد وواضح يلخّص القضية والإجراء الموصى به . استخدموا لغة مفهومة ومبسَطة ، وتجنبوا التعبيرات المتخصصة. راجعوا النص للتحقق من خلوه من الأخطاء الإملائية. واستخدموا جُملاً قصيرة وتركيبات بسيطة وأسلوب محايد على صعيد الجندر. اختاروا كلمات مفهومة دوليا وليس محلياً. وأخيراً، اطلعوا آخرين على المسودة قبل إرسالها لمعرفة آرائهم .

استخدموا تصميما بسيطا وواضحا وبه كثير من الفراغات. وقسموا الفقرات الطويلة. استخدموا التقسيم إلى نقاط والعناوين الفرعية لتجنب الرتابة. إن كانت منظمتكم تعزم إرسال تنبيهات التحرك بصورة دورية، استخدموا تصميما مختلفا كي يتعرف الجميع فورا على "علامتكم التجارية". وينبغي الالتزام بمعايير تنسيق النصوص الصارمة في التنبيه.

6 – وضّحوا الحقائق بصورة لا لَبْس فيها

ستطوف رسالتكم العالم ، فدّققوا في المعلومات جيداً. قد تكون للأخطاء تأثيرات كارثية، والخطأ، مهما كان صغيرا،ً قد يستغلَه خصومكم بسهولة لاستبعاد تنبيهاتكم بوصفها "إشاعات" أو "مبالغات" . عندما تكتشفون الخطأ ، سيكون من الصعب إرسال تصحيح له، كما أن ذلك التصحيح على الأغلب لن يمرر إلى جميع الوجهات التي أرسلت إليها الرسالة الأصلية .

( ملاحظة : شبكة آيفكس ترسل تصحيحات للتنبيهات عندما يطلب منها ذلك، وذلك رغم إدراكنا أنها لا تعوض بشكل كامل ضياع المصداقية الذي يتسبب فيه خطأ خطير في الحقائق كان يمكن تجنبه) .

7- تساءلوا إن كنتم تريدون توزيع التنبيه من الأصل

إذا كان موضوع التنبيه يتناول مسألة حساسة جداً، مثل وضع سجناء سياسيين محددين بالاسم، فقد تفضلون معرفة من بالضبط يتلقى تنبيهكم، وكيف ، وفي أي سياق . فإذا كان الأمر كذلك ، ضمّنوا تنبيهكم عبارة بارزة تحظر على متلقَّي التنبيه أن يمرروه لغيرهم ( فقد تختاروا على سبيل المثال توزيع المعلومات الحساسة كتنبيه داخلي لآيفكس أو نداء أو طلب،...إلخ ) .

8- احذروا من التنبيهات المعدلة من قبل طرف آخر

على الرغم من أنه ليس من الشائع أن يعدّل شخص ما التنبيه الذي أعددتموه، إلا أن بعض الناس يلجأون إلى إرسال صياغتهم الشخصية للتنبيه، ربما إستناداً إلى معلومات حصلوا عليها شفاهيا .وعادة ما تنطوي مثل هذه التنبيهات التي طالتها تغييرات من طرفِ ثانِ على مبالغات أو غير ذلك من المغالطات، وقد تؤدي نتيجة لذلك إلى نزع المصداقية عن تنبيهاتكم . فإذا ما تناهى إلى علمكم وجود تحوير غير صحيح لتنبيهاتكم ، فعليكم فوراً إشعار القوائم البريدية المعنية بوجود مثل هذه التنبيهات المعدلة. وعليكم أن تحددوا بوضوح ما هو صحيح وما هو غير صحيح ، وأن تطلبوا إلى جمهورك المستهدف ألا يوزع مثل هذه التنبيهات المضلَلة، و تقدموا له مؤشرات للتعرف على المعلومات الصحيحة ، بما في ذلك نسخة من تنبيهكم الأصلي. إن هذا الإجراء يخدم غرضين ، أولهما : أنه قد يساعد في الحد من انتشار التقارير المغلوطة ، و ثانيهما: أنه يضعكم في موقع الشخص المسئول المعني بوصول الحقيقة للقراء.

9 – كونوا واقعيين في توقعكم للدعم، ولا تبالغوا في المطالبات والمزاعم

لا تقولوا: "مرّر هذا إلى جميع من تعرف" . لا تبالغوا. لا تلحوا. ولا تقولوا: " برجاء التحرك الآن!!! ". و لا تصرخوا مطالبين بإبلاغ كل شخص في العالم عن قضيتكم . فأنتم لا تسعون لمخاطبة "الجميع"، بل فئة مستهدفة ممن قد يهتمون بهذه القضية. وإذا كان عامل الوقت حاسماً فعليكم أن توضحوا ذلك بلغة رصينة فحسب . لا تدعوا الظروف الراهنة تستحوذ على تفكيركم . فقد تساعد رسالتكم على تجنب كارثة قصيرة الأمد ، ولكنها أيضاً يجب أن تسهم في عملية أطول أمدا بكثير هي بناء دعم لحرية التعبير. إن وعيكم المستمر بهذا السياق الأوسع سيساعدكم ويساعد قراءكم على عدم فقدان الحماس في حال خسارتكم للمعركة الراهنة .

10 – تجنّبوا لغة المواجهة

ينبغي تجنب المزاعم التي لا يمكن إثباتها أو الفرضيات الغامضة، ذلك أن من شأنها أن تلحق ضرراً بالضحية وتؤثر سلباً على مصداقية المعلومات المقدّمة. وعند الحاجة، في سياق النداءات العاجلة ، يذكر أعضاء آيفكس النقاط الأساسية للمعاهدات الدولية التي وقعتها أو صادقت عليها الدولة المسؤولة عن الانتهاكات المبّلغ عنها ، مثل المادة " 19 " من العهد الدولي للحقوق المدنية والسياسية والإعلان العالمي لحقوق الإنسان والبنود المتعلقة بحرية التعبير في دستور البلد، إلخ.
.
وفي نفس السياق، عليكم أن تتجنبوا استخدام مصادر مجهولة عند إعداد التنبيه. وحاولوا جادّين أن تضمنوا أن أي تصريح أو رأي يتضمنه نص التنبيه الذي أعددتموه يمكن ان يعزى إلى مصدر موثوق، وحدّدوا المصدر بوضوح في تنبيهكم . ويسري هذا بشكل خاص على التصريحات سياسية أو غيرها من التصريحات التي قد تثير الجدل.

تجنبوا الصياغات ذات الطابع السياسي التي قد تعد متطرفة خارج بلادكم وبالتالي قد تكلفكم، وتكلف ضحية الانتهاك الذي تبلغون عنه، دعما دوليا ثمينا. فمثلا تعد جملة "إن للعمدة الذي يقاضي الصحيفة صلات وثيقة بشركات التعدين والبترول الدولية العاملة بالبلاد" أكثر إقناعا للجمهور الدولي من جملة "إن العمدة أداة فاسدة في يد الإمبريالية الغربية".

11 – لا تستخدموا العرائض ذات قوائم التوقيعات التراكمية

إن عرائض قوائم التوقيعات التراكمية هي تنبيهات تشتمل على قائمة أسماء في نهايتها، وهي تدعو الناس لإضافة أسمائهم إلى القائمة وإعادتها إلى المنظمة إن كان إسمهم هو الثلاثون أو الستون، إلخ، في القائمة ، ثم تمرير التنبيه ومعه قائمة التوقيعات لكل من يعرفونه . هذه الفكرة تبدو ممتازة على المستوى المجرد ، لكنها غير مفيدة على أرض الواقع. والمشكلة هي أن معظم التوقيعات لن تصل إلى مقصدها النهائي لأن السلسلة ستتفكك قبل أن تجمع الأسماء الثلاثين التالية، بل والأسوأ هو أن مكتب المشرع سيتسلم عرائض بها نسبة من التوقيعات المتكررة، مما يزعج الموظفين ويقنعهم بأنهم يتعاملون مع جماعة غير كفؤ لا تقدر على مساءلتهم.

إن كل تنبيه من تنبيهات آيفكس يستهدف قائمة محددة من الأعضاء والمشتركين، ونتمنى أن لا يرتبك الناس لهذا العدد الكبير من التنبيهات ، والتي كثيرا ما تصل إلى 60 تنبيهاً أو أكثر في الأسبوع من مختلف مناطق العالم . ومن المفيد أن تكون هناك قوائم مستهدفة مقسمة حسب عدد من المعايير، منها البلد والقارة والمهنة ونوع انتهاكات حرية التعبير.

12 – لا تبالغوا في الأمر

يمكن أن تصبح التنبيهات العاجلة رسائل غير مرحب بها شأنها شأن الإعلانات الموزعة على المنازل. أجّلوا حدوث ذلك بحسن اختيار التنبيهات التي ترسلونها. إن كانت منظمتكم أو أي منظمة أخرى قد أصدرت تقريرا عن القضية بالفعل، تأكدوا من وضع المعلومات أو التحليلات الجديدة التي تقدمونها عن نفس القضية بالقرب من رأس الخطاب، بدلا من دفنها في نهايته.

13- حُثَوا الناس على إعلامكم بتحركاتهم

إذا طالبتم الناس بإرسال فاكس إلى مكتب مسؤول حكومي ، على سبيل المثال ، فعليكم أن تزودونهم بعنوان بريد إليكتروني وتقترحوا أن يرسلوا إليكم رسالة موجزة في حال فعلوا. واشرحوا لهم أنكم سوف تستخدمون هذه الرسائل لإحصاء عدد الاتصالات التي صدرت استجابة لتنبيهكم، و أن هذه المعلومات ستكون قيمَة للغاية عند مناقشة موظفي الهيئة التشريعية فيما بعد. لا تفعلوا ذلك إلا إن كانت خدمة البريد الإلكتروني الخاصة بكم تتسع لتلقي 50,000 رسالة في فترة قصيرة . قد تحتاجون للتحقق من ذلك من مزود الخدمة الخاص بكم قبل الشروع في هذا الإجراء .

( ملاحظة : إننا في سكرتارية آيفكس لا نفعل ذلك، لأسباب تتعلق بمساحة حفظ الرسائل ومحدودية مزود خدمة الإنترنت، لكننا نقر بأهمية وضرورة تلقي قدر أكبر من ردود أفعال الأعضاء والمشاركين. وفي الواقع فإن تقييم أثر التنبيه بصورة واضحة يظل صعباً للغاية، لأن رسائل التعليقات تظل عشوائية.)

14- لا تعتبروا إرسال البريد الإلكتروني مرادفا للتنظيم

لا يتعدى التنبيه في بعض الأحيان كونه أحد مكونات عملية تنظيم التحركات من أجل حرية التعبير . فإذا أردتم تشكيل حركة قوية ومستمرة فعليكم في مرحلة ما أن تجمعوا الناس فعليا. إن الإنترنت أداة مفيدة للتنظيم، بيدْ أنه أداة واحدة من بين أدوات كثيرة ستحتاجون إليها، وعليكم تقييمها بالأساس بناءا على إسهامها في الأهداف التنظيمية الأكبر. هل يتحرك الناس الذين تصلهم تنبيهات الإنترنت العاجلة لاتخاذ مواقف فاعلة في حركتكم ؟ هل تجتذبونهم لحضور المؤتمرات أو تتحدثون إليهم بالهاتف أو تقابلونهم شخصياً وتصبحون مسئولين أمامهم عن توفير معلومات محددة وتجيبون عن أسئلتهم؟ إذا كان الجواب بالنفي، فلم مواصلة جهودكم للتواصل معهم؟

15- (اختياري) أطلبوا من قارئ التنبيه أن يتخذ إجراءاً بسيطاً ومحدداً وعقلانياً

يمكنكم، على سبيل المثال ، أن تطلبوا من الناس أن يتصلوا بحكومتهم أو حكومة الدولة التي وقع فيها الانتهاك وأن يُعبروا عن وجهة نظر محددة حول القضية. وفي هذه الحالة، عليكم تزويدهم بأكبر قدر من المعلومات اللازمة لتسهيل هذا الاتصال، وبملخص للنقاط التي ينبغي التطرق إليها. قرّروا إذا ما كنتم تريدون أن تطلبوا منهم إرسال رسائل اليكترونية (التي قد يكون عددها هائلاً لكن تأثيرها يقارب الصفر) أو رسائل مكتوبة تبعث بالفاكس أو بالبريد العادي ( والتي سيكون عددها أقل لكنها أكثر فاعلية) أو مكالمات هاتفية ( وتأثيرها بين بين). وفكروا في خيارات أخرى أيضاً: فربما كان الهدف الوحيد لتنبيهكم هو طلب إجراء اتصالات من قبل عددٍ صغير من الناشطين الملتزمين، أو جمع المعلومات، أو البدء بإعداد قائمة عناوين بريدية لتنظيم تحركات أخرى .

وعلاوة على ذلك ، يجب التمهل في اختيار النائب أو المسئول الذي ترغبون في استهدافه . فبدلاً من إعداد قائمة طويلة بالجهات التي قد تكون أو لا تكون في وضع يسمح لها بالتدخل في القضية، حددوا الشخص أو المكتب الأكثر ملاءمة للاتصال على أساس كل حالة على حدى. إن توجيه جمهوركم في الاتجاه الصحيح هو خطوة أوليّة للتأكد من أن تنبيهكم سيكون له أبلغ الأثر .
 
آيفكس هي شبكة عالمية من المنظمات الملتزمة بالعمل على الدفاع عن حرية التعبير ودعمها.
يسمح باستخدام المادة المتاحة على هذا الموقع وإعادة إنتاجها أو نشرها سواء كل المادة أو جزء منها مع ذكر المصدر سواء كان أحد أعضاء أيفكس أو الشبكة نفسها مع إضافة رابط للمادة الأصلية

IFEX Alerts

Fifteen Steps to Designing Effective Alerts


This is available in:

English Français Español عربي
1. Establish authenticity

Include clear information about the sponsoring organisation and provide the reader with several ways of contacting you: e-mail address, postal address, website address, phone number, etc. Including this contact information is only logical since you want people to respond to your alert, and they may need to contact you. There's no substitute for clearly explaining who you are and giving people a way to reach you.

IFEX alerts always clearly identify the originating member organisation of the network and follow a standardised format and structure which subscribers can immediately identify as an "IFEX" product.

2. Put a date on it

Even if an alert appears to have become outdated and faded away, it can stay in someone's mailbox for months or years and then suddenly get a new life as the mailbox's owner forwards it to a new set of lists. Do not count on the message header to convey the date (or anything else); people who forward Internet messages frequently strip off the header. Even better, give your recommended action a clearly stated time-out date, e.g., "Take this action by February 17, 2009". If you think there will be follow-up actions, or if you want to convey that this is part of an ongoing campaign, say so. That way, people will contact you or look out for your next alert.

Following the same principle, when assembling alerts for the IFEX network, we also ask member organisations to add dates within the text of their alerts. This means substituting words like "today", "yesterday" or "last week" with the specific date to which they are referring. Even if you have a dateline at the beginning of an alert, please include dates for the key events described. Since the audience for IFEX alerts is international in nature, this is one more method of helping to avoid ambiguity or confusion in communicating the facts of a case. Remember, your alerts and our final version of your alerts cross time zones, therefore clearly indicating within the body of the alert the dates of incidents is crucial.

3. Include clear beginning and ending markers

You can't prevent people from modifying your alert as they pass it along. Fortunately, this usually only happens accidentally, as extra commentary accumulates at the top and bottom of the message as it gets forwarded. Put a bold row of dashes or something similar at the top and bottom of your alert so that extra material appears as such. That way it will be very clear what you and your credibility are standing behind.

4. Make it self-contained

Don't assume that your audience will have any context beyond what they get in your alert. Your alert will probably be read by people who have never heard of you or the victim of the FoE violation. Define your terms and provide background information, or at least some simple instructions for getting useful background materials. You might consider making the e-mailed alert relatively short, focusing principally on the new information you wish to convey, but include the URL for a web page that provides the full details.

When preparing an alert for distribution on the IFEX network, IFEX member should always provide the full names of political organisations or movements, or of government bodies, not just their acronyms. Even acronyms that are widely understood within a particular country may be completely unknown by the majority of international readers. When this information is missing, Alerts Coordinators at the Clearing House will make every effort to find the complete information for inclusion in the alert, but this only adds an extra step to an already time-consuming process, and may also result in errors that are embarrassing for both the member and the Clearing House. For this reason, we ask IFEX members to assist us by providing the most complete information possible.

In addition, when preparing an alert based on an ongoing case which has already been documented, it is useful to review past alerts distributed on the IFEX network to see what has been written on the case earlier and to include a "background information" section in the alert which provides a chronological summary of the case up to that point. Not only does this help to ensure that an alert is self-contained but it also helps to ensure that all the IFEX membership is on the same page concerning the facts of a case, further helping to avoid any contradictions or misunderstandings.

5. Make it easy to understand and easy to read

It is crucial to begin with a good, clear headline that summarises the issue and the recommended action. Use plain language, not jargon. Check your spelling. Use short sentences, simple grammar and gender-neutral language. Choose words that will be understood worldwide, not just in your own country or culture. Solicit comments on a draft before sending it out.

Use a simple, clear layout with lots of white space. Break up long paragraphs. Use bullets and section headings to avoid visual monotony. If your organisation plans to send out action alerts regularly, use a distinctive design so that everyone can recognise your "brand name" instantly. Strict formatting criteria should be adhered to.

6. Get your facts straight

Your message will circle the earth, so double-check. Errors can be disastrous. Even a small mistake can make it easy for your opponents to dismiss your alerts as "rumours" or "exaggerations." Once you do discover a mistake, it becomes difficult to issue a correction, and the correction will probably not get forwarded to every place that the original message did.

(NOTE: The IFEX network does issue corrections to alerts when warranted, though we recognise that corrections do not entirely undo the loss of credibility that results when serious and avoidable factual errors are made by members.)

7. Ask yourself if you want the alert to circulate at all

If your alerts concern highly sensitive matters, for example the status of specifically named political prisoners, then you will probably want to know precisely who is getting your notices, and how, and in what context. If so, include a prominent notice instructing the alert's recipients to NOT forward it (i.e. you may sometimes choose to distribute the sensitive information solely as an IFEX internal alert, appeal, request, etc.)

8. Beware of second-hand alerts

Although it is uncommon for someone to modify the text of your alert, sometimes people will send out their own paraphrase of an alert, perhaps based on something they heard verbally. These second-hand alerts usually contain exaggerations and other factual inaccuracies, and as a result they can easily be used to discredit your alert. If you become aware of inaccurate variants of your alert, you should immediately notify relevant mailing lists of the existence of these second-hand alerts. Explain clearly what the facts are and aren't, implore the community not to circulate the misleading alerts, and provide pointers to accurate information, including a copy of your own alert. This action has two virtues: first, it may help to suppress the mistaken reports; and second, it positions you as a responsible person who cares about the truth.

9. Be realistic in your expectations of support and unexaggerated in your requests and claims

Do not say "forward this to everyone you know". Do not overstate. Do not plead. Do not say "Please Act NOW!!!". Do not scream about the urgency of telling everyone in the world about your issue. You are not trying to address "everyone" but rather a targeted group of people who are inclined to care about the issue. And if the issue really is time-critical then just explain why, in sober language. Do not get obsessed with the immediate situation at hand. Your message may help avoid some short-term calamity, but it should also contribute to a much longer-term process of building support for freedom of expression. Maintaining a sense of that larger context will help you and your readers from becoming dispirited in the event that you lose the immediate battle.

10. Avoid confrontational language

Unsubstantiated claims or vague hypotheses are to be avoided; they end up causing more harm than good to the victim and hurt the credibility of the information provided. Whenever necessary, in the context of urgent appeals, IFEX members make mention of the key points in international treaties signed or ratified by the State responsible for the violation reported on, such as Article 19 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, free expression provisions in the country's constitution, etc.

By the same token, avoid using anonymous sources when preparing an alert. Always strive to ensure that a statement or expressed point of view which you include in the text of your alert can be attributed to a credible source, and identify that source explicitly in your alert. This is especially true in the case of political or other potentially contentious statements. If it is necessary to quote a confidential source, explain why the source requested confidentiality. Normally, only a well-grounded fear that the source may in turn become a victim of assault or imprisonment justifies not identifying them.

Avoid using overly politicised language that may be interpreted as extremist outside of your country, and therefore cost you, and the victim of the violation you are reporting, valuable international support. "The mayor suing the newspaper has close ties to international mining and petroleum companies operating in the country." Is more convincing to an international audience than "The mayor is a corrupt tool of Western imperialism."

11. Do not use a chain-letter petition

A chain-letter petition is an action alert that includes a list of names at the end; it invites people to add their own name to the list, send in the petition if their name is the 30th or 60th etc, and forward the resulting alert-plus-signature-list to everyone they know. This idea sounds great in the abstract, but it really doesn't work. The problem is that most of the signatures will never reach their destination since the chain will fizzle out before reaching the next multiple of thirty in length. What's even worse, a small proportion of the signatures will be received in the legislator's office many times, thus annoying the staff and persuading them that they're dealing with an incompetent group that can never hold them accountable.

Each IFEX alert is targeted to a specific list of members and subscribers. The hope is that people are not overwhelmed by the sheer number of alerts, which can often reach 60 or more per week from all regions of the world. It is useful to have targeted lists which follow a number of criteria, including country, continent, profession, type of free expression violation, etc.

12. Don't overdo it

Alerts might become as unwelcome as direct-mail advertising. Postpone that day by being selective about the alerts you send. If your organisation or another organisation has already reported on the case, make sure that the new information or analysis you are communicating about the case is near the top of your alert, not buried at the bottom.

13. Urge people to inform you of their actions

If you are calling on people to send a fax to a government official's office, for example, you should provide an e-mail address and invite them to send you a brief message. Explain that you will use these messages to count the number of callers your alert has generated, and that this information will be invaluable when you speak with the legislator's staff later on. Only do this, though, if your mail server is capable of handling 50,000 messages in a short period. You might want to check this out with your service provider beforehand.

NOTE: we don't do this at the IFEX Clearing House because of volume concerns and server limitations, though we recognise the crucial value and need for greater feedback from members and subscribers. In fact, determining the impact of an alert with absolute clarity remains difficult, since feedback from letter writers remains haphazard.

14. Don't mistake e-mail for organising

An alert is sometimes only a component in a broader process of organising to defend the right to freedom of expression. If you want to build a hardy, durable movement to defend freedom of expression, at some point you'll have to gather people together. The Internet is a useful tool for organising, but it's just one tool and one medium among many that you will need, and you should evaluate it largely in terms of its contribution to larger organising goals. Do the people you reach through alerts move up into more active positions in your movement? Do you draw them into conferences, talk to them by phone, meet them in person, become accountable to them to provide specific information and answer questions? If not, why do you keep reaching out to them?

15. (optional) Ask your reader to take a simple, clearly defined, rationally chosen action

For example, you might ask people to contact their own government or the government of the country in which the offence occurred and express a certain view on an issue. In this case, you should provide as much information as necessary to facilitate that contact, and a brief summary of the points to raise. Decide whether to ask for e-mail messages (which can be huge in number but near-zero in effect), written letters to be faxed or mailed (which will be fewer but more effective), or phone calls (which fall in between). Consider other options as well: perhaps the sole purpose of your alert is to solicit contacts from a small number of committed activists, or to gather information, or to start a mailing list to organise further actions.

In addition, take some time to evaluate which representative or person in a position of authority you wish to target. Rather than providing a long list of contact information for authorities who may or may not be in a position to intervene in a case, identify the most appropriate individual or office to contact on a case-by-case basis. Pointing your audience in the appropriate direction is a preliminary step in making sure your alert will have the maximum impact.



REFERENCES

Some of the above is based on Designing Effective Action Alerts for the Internet, by Phil Agre, Department of Information Studies, University of California, Los Angeles, Los Angeles, California 90095-1520, USA, pagre@ucla.edu, http://dlis.gseis.ucla.edu/pagre, 24 April 1999 version. Copyright 1994-1998, all rights reserved. Used by permission.
 
IFEX is a global network of committed organisations working to defend and promote free expression.
Permission is granted for material on this website to be reproduced or republished in whole or in part provided the source member and/or IFEX is cited with a link to the original item.