20 September 2002


CPJ confirms that four more journalists are in prison

Incident details

Dawit Habtemichael, Medhanie Haile, Selamyinghes Beyene, Binyam Haile, Dawit Isaac, Fessehaye Yohannes, Said Abdulkader, Seyoum Tsehaye, Yusuf Mohamed Ali, Mattewos Habteab, Simret Seyoum, Hamid Mohamed Said, Saidia, Saleh al-Jezaeeri, Zemenfes Haile, Ghebrehiwet Keleta, Temesgen Gebreyesus, Emanuel Asrat

(CPJ/IFEX) - The following is a 19 September 2002 CPJ press release:

ERITREA: CPJ confirms that four more journalists are in prison

On the anniversary of the crackdown on private media, 18 journalists remain in jail

New York, September 19, 2002-The Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ) confirmed today that four more Eritrean journalists, who have been missing, are in government custody, according to several sources in the capital, Asmara.

CPJ had previously confirmed the detention of 14 journalists, many of whom were arrested one year ago today after President Isaias Afewerki banned the private press on September 18, 2001.

All 18 journalists are being held incommunicado.

"The continued information blackout in Eritrea is outrageous, as is the government's elimination of all private media in the country," said CPJ executive director Ann Cooper. "We strongly urge the government to release these journalists immediately and allow them to resume their work of reporting the news."

The four journalists include Zemenfes Haile, founder and manager of the private weekly Tsigenay, who was sent to a work camp in early 1999; Ghebrehiwet Keleta, a news writer for Tsigenay, who was last seen in detention by friends and family in July 2000. Reporter Selamyinghes Beyene, of the weekly Meqaleh, and Binyam Haile, of the pro-government Haddas Eritrea, have also been missing since their arrests in the fall of 2001.

The remaining 14 jailed journalists include:

Yosef Mohamed Ali, chief editor of Tsigenay;

Seyoum Tsehaye, free-lance editor and photographer and the former director of Eritrean State Television (ETV);

Temesgen Gebreyesus, reporter for Keste Debena;

Mattewos Habteab, editor of Meqaleh;

Dawit Habtemichael, assistant chief editor, Meqaleh;

Medhanie Haile, assistant chief editor, Keste Debena;

Fessahaye Yohannes, also known as Joshua, editor-in-chief of Setit;

Said Abdulkadir, chief editor of Admas;

Amanuel Asrat, chief editor of Zemen;

Dawit Isaac, contributor to Setit;

Hamid Mohammed Said, ETV;

Saleh Aljezeeri, Eritrean State Radio;

Saadia (full name unknown), a female journalist with the Arabic-language service of ETV; and

Simret Seyoum, a writer and general manager for Setit.

CPJ is a New York-based, independent, nonprofit organization that works to safeguard press freedom worldwide. For more information about press conditions in Eritrea, visit www.cpj.org.">http://www.cpj.org">www.cpj.org.


Committee to Protect Journalists
330 7th Ave., 11th Floor
New York, NY 10001
info (@) cpj.org
Fax:+1 212 4659568
More from Eritrea
  • Shadow Report to Initial National Report (1999-2016) from the State of Eritrea

    Reporters Without Borders (RSF) accuses the Eritrean government of a complete denial of reality in its first-ever report to the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights and announces that it has submitted an alternative "shadow report" with a much darker assessment of the state of press freedom in Eritrea.

  • Freedom of the Press 2016: Eritrea

    17 journalists were imprisoned in Eritrea as of December 1, 2015, the most in sub-Saharan Africa

  • Freedom of the Press 2015: Eritrea

    Ranked 195th in annual global media freedom report